What can we do about Criminal Defamation?

Without going into personal details (as of now) which eventually lead me to this article on The Wire, I was phoned and was told that I would be sued in my attempt to malign a coding bootcamp in India on a public Q&A platform.

However, what I wrote was a deduced opinion on the bootcamp, a fact that was mentioned multiple times in my opinion. As a college-going student, I quickly got very scared. I spent several days trying to decide how things could unfold, having learnt some business law myself a couple of years ago.

Basically, I was threatened to be sued by their law firm because they could not stand a negative review on social media. I thought to myself how common negative reviews are, and why such an action was warranted in my particular case. I called up some of my law-studying friends and they told me this was merely a tactic to force me to take down my review, albeit using a more serious-looking threat, even though not as serious as sending some goons to my house (they have my details, unfortunately, as I had applied to them some months prior).

What are your thoughts on this archaic law? Can we do something to change the negative effects of such a law?

1 Like

Disclaimer: IANAL.

Unfortunately, in 99% of the cases when a party contacts you through lawyers, you should get a lawyer too.

If their notice is just an intimidation tactic, a countering notice from your lawyer will already make them think twice about following up with a person who has lawyered up and is ready to fight.

If they really intend to sue you, you would need a lawyer anyway who can reply to them about how your review is protected by free speech laws and that they can be countersued for legal fees.

Given the way Indian courts function, it is highly unlikely that they will sue you over 1 negative review on 1 Q and A site. It is much easier for them to get your review removed by negotiation with the Q&A site.

2 Likes